Building community for Punjabi Wikipedia – My experience

The content of this blogpost is moved to the new domain. Please visit http://shijualex.in/building-community-for-punjabi-wikipedia-my-experience/ to read this blogpost.

This entry was posted in Indian Language Wikipedias, Punjabi, Wikimedia, Wikipedia. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Building community for Punjabi Wikipedia – My experience

  1. Steven Walling says:

    Thank you for this post Shiju. Fascinating to get a look at this community. :-)

  2. Robin says:

    I would like to mention that I actually added Punjabi to Narayam with the help of Surinder & Amir during the wikiconference hackathon :-)

  3. Shiju Alex says:

    Thanks Robin for the comment. I have added a small Note in the post to clarify your contributions also.

  4. Natkeeran says:

    The situation for Punjabi was very perplexing for me. Because, there are huge expatriate communities in UK and Canada (at least 1 million each). Having such large community means access to Internet, and that should translate to higher number of editors.

    I could think of several reasons why the Punjabi language is lagging. The different fonts used in India and Pakistan is a major barrier for language development. Second, Punjabi is not an educational language, as many people to opt to study in Hindi or Urudu. Third, as you correctly noted the technical and access issues. Fourth could simply be lack of awareness.

    In any case, thank you for your hard work in helping that community grow. I am sure they are going to do well.

  5. Pingback: Indic language wikipedias – Statistical report – 2012 | abundance of the heart

Comments are closed.